top of page
Search

It's all about the colors!

One of the major things I like to do is bake for holidays. Typically I bake a lot during Christmas but this year I also decided to make some cookies for Easter... but let's be honest, who needs an excuse to make cookies. Right?

But it's not just about making the goods, for me it's about sharing them. My family can never eat everything I bake so I share them. I take them to work and have my husband take some to his work. All of his coworkers love when he brings in treats!


Now before I give you the recipe and show you my beautiful photos, the blue did not turn out near as bright as I wanted it it. It kinda bugs me and a friend mentioned making another 1/4 batch and I just couldn't justify it. Also making these cookies with a 3 month old is difficult. I tried for two days before I finally got them made.


Also included is if you want to make the recipe vegetarian friendly.




Easter Cookies


Ingredients


-1 cup softened butter (1 cup margarine)

- 2 cups sugar

-4 eggs (1 cup unsweetened applesauce or plain yogurt)

-4 Tbsp lemon juice

-4 Tbsp lemon zest

-4 1/2 cups flour

-4 tsp baking powder

-Powder sugar to coat

Directions


1. Cream the butter (margarine) and the sugar together.

2. Add eggs (apple sauce) and mix until fluffy.

3. Add lemon zest and juice.

4. Add baking powder.

5. Slowly add in flour a little at a time.

6. Split dough in to however many portions you want to color.

7. Color and refrigerate for 2 hours.

8. Preheat oven to 350.

9. Roll dough into balls and toss in powder sugar.


10. Bake for 8-10 minutes.


Note: The worse part, in my opinion, about this recipe is the lemon zest. It takes forever! Haha!! Also use whatever colors you want and whatever food coloring works for you. For me, I used gel food coloring. I feel it gives a much more vibrant color.


Furthermore, if you are making this recipe vegetarian safe, oil will not work in place of butter. When creaming the butter or margarine you need to get a slightly more firm texture than you would get if you add oil instead.


On a final note. The trick I have learned with any "crackled" cookie to know that it is done is to look at where the cookie meets the pan. The edges should start browning just a little bit. For me it took almost 15 minutes of cook time for mine to be done as I am still figuring out my oven in the new place.


Enjoy and happy easter! Best wishes to everyone out there and know that we will get through this! I would love to see what you guys are making. #furrycooking

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page