top of page
Search

The Toast that isn't French

Ok bare with me. It's French toast guys. It's not so much about how you make it but the ingredients. You must have the right bread. Your plain Jane white bread won't cut it! For the best most delicious French toast, it's gotta be Brioche. If you can get fresh or a loaf then that's even better. For me I have to suffer with presided and packaged brioche but it's still amazing. Alternatively you can use a baguette, though not one of those hard, dry ones. You will want one that is fairly fresh and still soft in the middle.


I love French toast and it is one of may favorite things to make for breakfast, though I tend to screw it up in my haste to cook it and eat it. This time around I used a new cast iron griddle I have but had never taken out of the box. I also was using my condos stove top which I am still earning so there is a steep learning curve.


Bonus: The proper way to take care of a cast iron after using is to GENTLY wash with soap and hot water. You NEVER want to scrub with steel wool unless you are reconditioning a rusted pan. If you need to get something stuck on off, use kosher salt and oil. After you wash make sure to completely dry the whole pan, inside and out. Then dry it! I put mine in the oven on broil for a few minutes. Afterwards oil it. Not too much oil, just enough to cover the whole thing. Make sure to get the outside too! Store in a dry spot.


Back to the French toast goodness!


Ingredient

- 1 loaf Brioche bread

- 8 eggs

- 6 Tbsp heavy whipping cream

- 2 tsp vanilla extract

- 2 Tbsp brown sugar

- small pinch of salt


Directions

1. Whisk together eggs, heavy cream, vanilla, salt, and sugar.

2. Get your pan medium hot. Add a little oil.

3. Dip bread slices into egg mixture. Only batter enough that will fit comfortably in your pan.


4. Cook in pan 3-4ish minutes each side. until golden brown.



5. ENJOY!




Note: You don't want to let the bread sit in the egg mixture too long as it absorbs the mixture very quickly and will become soggy. This will also lead to the bread taking longer to cook, falling apart and even having raw egg in the middle if it is not cooked long enough.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page